SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award

The ACM SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovations Award is a lifetime research achievement award given by the ACM Special Interest Group on Management of Data, at its yearly flagship conference (also called SIGMOD). According to its homepage, it is given “for innovative and highly significant contributions of enduring value to the development, understanding, or use of database systems and databases”.[1] The award has been given since 1992.


Year Name
2019 Anastasia Ailamaki
2018 Raghu Ramakrishnan
2017 Goetz Graefe
2016 Gerhard Weikum
2015 Laura M. Haas[2]
2014 Martin L. Kersten[3]
2013 Stefano Ceri
2012 Bruce Lindsay
2011 Surajit Chaudhuri
2010 Umeshwar Dayal
2009 Masaru Kitsuregawa
2008 Moshe Y. Vardi
2007 Jennifer Widom
2006 Jeffrey D. Ullman
2005 Michael Carey
2004 Ronald Fagin
2003 Don Chamberlin
2002 Patricia Selinger
2001 Rudolf Bayer
2000 Rakesh Agrawal
1999 Hector Garcia-Molina
1998 Serge Abiteboul
1997 David Maier
1996 C. Mohan
1995 David DeWitt
1994 Philip Bernstein
1993 Jim Gray
1992 Michael Stonebraker


  1. ^
  2. ^ Laura Haas is the recipient of the 2015 SIGMOD Edgar F. Codd Innovation Award, SIGMOD, retrieved 2015-06-21.
  3. ^“International innovation award to Martin Kersten”. CWI Amsterdam. 26 June 2014. Retrieved 26 June 2014.


Ofer Abarbanel online library